maine dispensary

Where to Buy Weed in Maine? (Top Dispensary Deals in 2020)

Although Maine legalized marijuana in 2016, its recreational sales are yet to open, mostly due to the resistance from Maine’s anti-cannabis

governor who already vetoed two marijuana sales regulating bills since the official legalization.

Nevertheless, the most recent veto was overturned by lawmakers and Maine is preparing to launch adult-use sales by the second half of

2020, allowing adults 21 or older to purchase and possess up to 2.5 ounces of weed for personal use.

In this article, we’ll cover both recreational and medical marijuana laws in Maine; we’ll also highlight the best dispensaries to buy weed in the

state, and whether or not patients from other states can apply for a medical marijuana card here.

Let’s get started!

Is Weed Legal In Maine?

Yes, both recreational and medical use of marijuana is legal in Maine. However, they are subject to different regulations. Here we explain

everything you need to know about buying weed in Maine.

Medical Marijuana In Maine

Maine legalized medical marijuana in 1999, but the medical marijuana patient registry and card system were launched 10 years later, in 2009.

Patients can register with the Maine Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP) on a voluntary basis. The Maine Department of Health and Human

Services will then issue a registry ID card for qualified patients. If you don’t want to register with the MMMP, you must first acquire a written

certification from a qualified physician. This document will entitle you to purchase marijuana from one of the state-licensed dispensaries.

What Are the Age Restrictions for Buying Medical Weed in Maine?

Only adults who are 21 years of age or older can apply for a medical marijuana card in Maine. Minors can be accepted to join the MMMP with

parental consent, proving ta parental status or at least legal guardianship. Also, the parent or legal guardian must apply for the caregiver

status to legally buy weed in Maine from medical dispensaries.

Qualifying Health Conditions for MMMP

Patients who register with the MMMP must have a chronic or debilitating condition or disease that hasn’t responded well with conventional treatments.

Qualifying conditions include:

  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Anxiety
  • Cachexia
  • Cancer
  • Chronic pain
  • Consistent seizures or muscle spasms
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Epilepsy
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Huntington’s disease
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Nail-patella syndrome
  • Nausea
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

Becoming a Medical Marijuana Patient in Maine

In essence, applying for a medical marijuana card in Maine looks like this:

  • You’re diagnosed with a qualifying chronic health condition
  • consult with a doctor who can provide a recommendation/prescription
  • complete a Medical Marijuana Program Application/Renewal Form
  • You provide a government-issued ID and proof of residency

Once you’ve been verified, the MMMP will send a medical marijuana card to your address. There’s a registration fee of $100; paperwork can take up to 10 days to be verified and the card will arrive in the mail.

Can You Buy Weed in Maine if You’re a Patient from Another State?

Maine accepts medical marijuana cards from other states. Such patients are allowed to enter a dispensary and purchase a one month’s supply of marijuana after entering Maine.

Patients from the following states can legally buy their medicine in Maine:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • Hampshire
  • Jersey
  • Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Washington DC

Recreational Marijuana In Maine

If you’re looking for a place to buy weed in Maine as a recreational user, you might end up a little disappointed.

But before we elaborate on that, let’s have a brief overview of Maine’s recreational marijuana laws.

Possession Limits

Individuals aged 21 or older are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of weed. In addition, adults can legally grow up to three mature marijuana plants and 12 immature plants. There are no limits with regard to seedlings.

How Much Weed Can You Buy in Maine per Transaction?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

shares